CMMC 2.0 Levels: Foundational, Advanced, and Expert Explained

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Business

Summit 7 Announces CMMC Compliance Solutions for The Defense Industrial Base

In the ever-evolving landscape of cybersecurity, organizations working with the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) understand the critical importance of robust cybersecurity practices. The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) framework was introduced to ensure that organizations within the defense industrial base meet specific cybersecurity requirements. With the recent updates in CMMC 2.0, the framework has been restructured into three certification levels: Foundational, Advanced, and Expert. These levels represent a significant shift in how organizations approach and achieve CMMC compliance, and understanding them is crucial for navigating the compliance landscape effectively. In this article, we’ll explore CMMC 2.0 levels in detail, their significance, and how a cmmc consultant  can guide organizations through the certification process.

CMMC 2.0 Levels: A Recap

CMMC 2.0 introduces a tiered approach to certification, moving away from the five-level model of the previous version. The three certification levels are as follows:

  1. Foundational
  2. Advanced
  3. Expert

Each level signifies a different stage of cybersecurity maturity and capability, allowing organizations to tailor their compliance efforts to their specific needs and risk profiles.

Foundational Level (CMMC-F)

The Foundational Level is the starting point for organizations on their cmmc compliance  journey. It focuses on basic cybersecurity hygiene and practices. Key characteristics of the Foundational Level include:

  • Basic Cyber Hygiene: At this level, organizations establish fundamental cybersecurity practices, such as maintaining an inventory of software and hardware assets, conducting regular vulnerability assessments, and ensuring the use of strong passwords.
  • Low Cyber Risk: The Foundational Level is designed to address low to moderate cyber risk. Organizations at this level are expected to protect against common cyber threats and vulnerabilities.
  • Self-Assessment: Self-assessment is a key feature of the Foundational Level. Organizations can assess their compliance with these basic cybersecurity practices and take corrective actions as needed.

The Foundational Level is ideal for smaller organizations or those with limited resources, providing a starting point to enhance their cybersecurity posture and gradually move up the certification tiers.

Advanced Level (CMMC-A)

The Advanced Level builds upon the foundational practices and introduces more comprehensive cybersecurity measures. Key characteristics of the Advanced Level include:

  • Enhanced Cybersecurity Practices: Organizations at the Advanced Level implement more sophisticated cybersecurity practices, such as secure configuration management, continuous monitoring, and incident response planning.
  • Moderate Cyber Risk: The Advanced Level addresses moderate to high cyber risk. Organizations at this level are expected to protect against a broader range of cyber threats and vulnerabilities.
  • Third-Party Assessment: Unlike the self-assessment approach of the Foundational Level, organizations at the Advanced Level undergo third-party assessments to verify their compliance with the more advanced cybersecurity practices.

The Advanced Level is suitable for organizations that require a higher level of cybersecurity maturity to meet their contractual obligations with the DoD and other federal agencies.

Expert Level (CMMC-E)

The Expert Level represents the pinnacle of cybersecurity maturity and capability within the CMMC framework. Key characteristics of the Expert Level include:

  • Advanced Cybersecurity Practices: Organizations at the Expert Level implement the most advanced and comprehensive cybersecurity practices. These practices may include threat hunting, advanced threat detection, and cyber threat intelligence integration.
  • High Cyber Risk: The Expert Level is designed for organizations facing high cyber risk, often due to their involvement in critical defense contracts or handling highly sensitive information.
  • Stringent Third-Party Assessment: Achieving the Expert Level certification requires rigorous third-party assessments to ensure that organizations meet the highest cybersecurity standards.

The Expert Level is reserved for organizations that operate in the most challenging cybersecurity environments and require the utmost level of protection and preparedness.

The Role of a CMMC Consultant in Achieving Certification

Navigating the CMMC certification process, regardless of the chosen level, can be complex. A CMMC consultant plays a crucial role in helping organizations understand the requirements, assess their readiness, and guide them through the certification process. Here’s how a consultant can assist at each level:

Foundational Level

  • Assessment and Gap Analysis: A consultant can conduct a comprehensive assessment and gap analysis to identify areas where foundational cybersecurity practices need improvement.
  • Documentation Guidance: Consultants can provide guidance on the documentation requirements for basic cybersecurity practices.
  • Self-Assessment Support: Even at the Foundational Level, a consultant can assist organizations in performing a thorough self-assessment and addressing any identified deficiencies.

Advanced Level

  • In-Depth Assessment: Consultants can help organizations prepare for the more rigorous third-party assessment required at the Advanced Level.
  • Customized Roadmap: A consultant can create a customized roadmap for organizations to advance from the Foundational to the Advanced Level, outlining specific steps and actions needed.
  • Risk Management: Consultants assist in developing risk management strategies to address moderate to high cyber risk.

Expert Level

  • Advanced Cybersecurity Expertise: At the Expert Level, organizations need the highest level of cybersecurity expertise. Consultants with specialized knowledge can guide them in implementing advanced cybersecurity practices.
  • Third-Party Assessment Preparation: Consultants can help organizations prepare for the stringent third-party assessments required at the Expert Level, ensuring that they meet the highest cybersecurity standards.
  • Continuous Improvement: Achieving and maintaining the Expert Level certification requires continuous improvement. A consultant can help organizations establish processes for ongoing enhancement of their cybersecurity practices.


CMMC 2.0 levels—Foundational, Advanced, and Expert—offer organizations flexibility in tailoring their cybersecurity efforts to their specific needs and risk profiles. Whether you’re just starting your compliance journey or aiming for the highest level of certification, understanding these levels is essential.

A CMMC consultant serves as a valuable partner throughout the certification process, providing expertise, guidance, assessment, and support to ensure that organizations meet the required cybersecurity standards. By collaborating with a consultant, organizations can navigate the evolving compliance landscape, secure government contracts, and uphold robust cybersecurity practices in an ever-changing digital world.